Creative Operational Solutions

Mari Bastashevski, Tyler Coburn, Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen, Erin Diebboll, Ferenc Gróf, Guo Xi & Zhang Jianling, James T. Hong, Christopher Page, Samson Young, Zheng Mahler

Dec 10, 2016 – Mar 05, 2017

Opening reception on December 9, 2016, 7–9 pm, Talk at 6:30pm
A conversation between Prem Krishnamurthy, Cosmin Costinas, Maayan Strauss, Tuur Van Balen, Tyler Coburn and Christopher Page, moderated by Freya Chou

Para Site is proud to present Creative Operational Solutions, the first exhibition to emerge from Container Artist Residency 01, an artist-in-residence program by artist Maayan Strauss that takes place onboard commercial cargo ships. Curated by Prem Krishnamurthy and Cosmin Costinas, the exhibition features works by Container Artist Residency 01 artists Mari Bastashevski, Tyler Coburn, Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen, Erin Diebboll, Ferenc Gróf, Christopher Page, and Samson Young, alongside artworks by James T. Hong, Zheng Mahler, Guo Xi & Zhang Jianling. Materials related to Hong Kong’s early history as a major shipping port and its role in the opium trade are presented in a historical section curated by Qu Chang, which also features work by Sawangwongse Yawnghwe. Framing the entire residency program, its financial underpinnings, and conceptual structure, a further “meta-display” makes transparent the logistics of the project. 

Responding to both the residency and the conditions of increasing globalization, the projects explore technology’s effects on geopolitics, the linguistics and semiotics of maritime shipping, the role of the artist as laborer, individual and collective memory, collaborations with industrial entities, and surveillance, among other themes. Erin Diebboll’s serial drawings on paper imagine the contents of shipping containers within a highly-articulated, minimal language of representation. Christopher Page’s project, in which trompe-l'oeil panels form the faces of a shipping crate, pushes the limits of visuality in its tightly-organized structure. Appearing as a series of off-site performances, a downloadable .zip file, and an ingot made of bullet lead, Tyler Coburn’s works draw poetic connections between resonant frequency, global finance, and logistics. On the weekends before and after the opening, he will conduct a series of off-site performances—each for just a single person. (For more information about attending, email tyler.coburn@gmail.com.) Ferenc Gróf hijacks the semiotics of global maritime shipping, creating a graphic intervention that exposes the systems and nomenclature underlying the industry. Mari Bastashevski introduces a mirrored box that recorded its onboard surroundings during the artist’s residency and that continues its recording within the exhibition space, while Samson Young’s soundscape drawings capture his journey on a container ship by way of graphic scores that playfully represent language, aural stimuli, and time.

In addition to these works, several artist groups take on the history and politics of trade in different ways. Embedding themselves within the global supply chain of the abalone shell, Zheng Mahler, a collective based in Hong Kong, explore the history and politics of the porcelain trade through a collection of small-scale objects. London-based Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen employ the industrial process of electroplating in the production of a "seascape" onto stainless steel panels using metals excavated from the Democratic Republic of Congo to be used in electronics manufacturing in China. These are accompanied by a film collage drawing fragmented connections through material, place, and time from both sides of the Indian ocean. Taking the viewer on an epic voyage through spaces both real and imagined, Guo Xi & Zhang Jianling present a series of collage works around cyber-futurity. Finally, a two-channel video installation with ephemeral objects by James T. Hong plays as a counterpoint to the other works, performing the history of maritime commerce in Hong Kong with a focus on the opium trade.

The works produced by the seven residents of Container Artist Residency 01 are the starting point of this exhibition. Identifying the shipping industry as a driving cultural and economic force in the contemporary world, the program creates a space for artists to explore their practice within this context. Container Artist Residency is conceived as a distributed artwork in the form of an institutional and operational residency that foregrounds global commerce as the artist’s own immediate work environment. This first edition is realized in partnership with ZIM Integrated Shipping Services.

The seven artists-in-residence were selected by the curator of the first edition, Prem Krishnamurthy, together with a jury consisting of Sofía Hernández Chong Cuy, Niels Van Tomme, and Xiaoyu Weng. The selected resident artists were invited to travel with a cargo vessel on a route of their choice, and provided with an onboard studio space, accommodation in a ship's cabin, an honorarium, a return travel allowance, and a production budget with which to produce work. Through this next phase of the project, the artworks created will be shown in a traveling exhibition that extends the journey begun by the participating artists to multiple audiences.

Exhibition and graphic design by Project Projects, New York. 

Official Media Partner: Cobo Social


Attachment  dsc0010
Attachment  dsc0076a
Attachment  dsc0083a
Attachment  dsc0087
Attachment  dsc0097
Attachment  dsc0104
Attachment  dsc0114
Attachment  dsc0131
Attachment  dsc0137
Attachment  dsc0177
Attachment  dsc0188
Attachment  dsc0204
Attachment  dsc0217
Attachment  dsc0221
Attachment  dsc0251
Attachment  dsc0253
Attachment  dsc0261
Attachment  dsc0290
Attachment  dsc0323
Attachment  dsc0324
Attachment  dsc0327
Attachment  dsc0334
Attachment  dsc9957
Attachment  dsc9973
Attachment  dsc9984
Attachment  dsc9995

A conversation between Prem Krishnamurthy, Cosmin Costinas, Maayan Strauss, Tuur Van Balen, Tyler Coburn and Christopher Page, moderated by Freya Chou

創意運營方案

Mari Bastashevski, Tyler Coburn, Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen, Erin Diebboll, Ferenc Gróf, 郭熈及張健伶, 洪子健, Christopher Page, 楊嘉輝, Zheng Mahler

12月 10, 2016 – 3月 05, 2017

開幕酒會:2016年12月9日晚上7-9時
開幕座談將於6.30時舉行,參與者包括Prem Krishnamurthy,康喆明,Maayan Strauss,Tuur Van Balen,Tyler Coburn,Christopher Page,由周安曼主持。

Para Site隆重呈獻《創意運營方案》,該展為 Container Artist Residency 01的首站展覽呈現。Container Artist Residency 01是由藝術家Maayan Strauss所創立一個邀請藝術工作者在海上商業貨輪進行的駐留計劃。《創意運營方案》由Prem Krishnamurthy和康喆明共同策劃,展出作品除了包括參與 Container Artist Residency 01的藝術家,Mari Bastashevski、Tyler Coburn、Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen、Erin Diebboll、 Ferenc Gróf、 Christopher Page 及楊嘉輝外,還特別加入洪子健、 Zheng Mahler,郭熈及張健伶的作品。另外,由瞿暢策劃的歷史單元則以歷史檔案素材以及藝術家Sawangwongse Yawnghwe的作品相互交織;以香港作為主要船運港及在鴉片貿易中所扮演的角色為背景,試圖藉此勾勒整個駐留計劃背後的經濟流動和概念架構,並透過「後設表現」的方式透明化整項計畫的組織邏輯。

回應本次駐留計劃及全球化日益加劇的形勢,展出的作品旨在探討科技對多個當代面向的影響,包括地緣政治、海運的語言學和符號學、藝術家作為勞動者、個人和集體記憶、與工業團體的合作,以及監控等。Erin Diebboll的紙上系列繪畫作品,以清晰、簡約的表現手法想像貨櫃箱中承載的物品樣貌。Christopher Page則以錯視畫法(trompe-l'oeil)圖版來組成船運木箱的面貎,在其組織緊密的結構中挑戰視覺感官的極限。Tyler Coburn的作品採用多種不同形式,包括場外演出、可供下載的.zip檔案以至彈頭製成的鉛錠,詩意地將共振頻率、全球金融和物流連繫起來。 在開幕前及開幕後的週末,Tyler Coburn將會進行一系列場外演出,每場只限一位觀眾參加。(有意參加人士,請寄電郵至tyler.coburn@gmail.com查詢詳情。)Ferenc Gróf借用了全球海運的符號學,創建出一種圖像的干預,披露這個行業的體制和命名系統。Mari Bastashevski在駐留時透過一個鏡子箱紀錄當時船上的周遭環境,並延續此紀錄過程,將場景轉至展覽現場,持續進行紀錄。楊嘉輝的聲音景觀繪畫則通過圖形化的音符來紀錄貨櫃船上的旅程,巧趣地再現語言、聽覺刺激以及時間感。

除了上述作品,一些藝術家團體也以不同手法呈現貿易的歷史和政治性。香港藝術家團體Zheng Mahler深入鮑魚殼的全球供應鏈中,透過一系列小型物件探索瓷器貿易的歷史和政治意涵。來自倫敦的Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen則利用工業電鍍技術,在不銹鋼板上製作出一幅「海景」圖;這些開採自剛果民主共和國的不銹鋼板金屬,在中國乃被用於電器的生產製造。郭熈和張健伶則利用一系列圍繞未來電腦世界的拼貼創作,碎片式地串連起印度洋兩端的物料、地點和時間,帶領觀眾投身真實和幻想的空間之中,進行一場偉大的旅程。最後,洪子健的雙頻道錄像裝置以鴉片貿易為聚焦,展示香港海上商貿的歷史,作為與其他作品間的對照。

本次展覽起始於七位參與Container Artist Residency 01的駐留藝術家的作品,將航運業視為推動當代世界文化和經濟的力量,並開闢一個空間讓藝術家在此脈絡下進行探索、實踐。Container Artist Residency 01是一個流通式的創作計劃,通過機構和操作式的駐留,將全球商貿作為藝術家的切身創作環境。以星綜合通運股份有限公司(ZIM Integrated Shipping Services)為此項目的首站合作夥伴。

七位駐留藝術家由該項目的首站策展人Prem Krishnamurthy,聯同Sofía Hernández Chong Cuy、Niels Van Tomme 及翁笑雨組成的評審團選出。獲選的駐留藝術家按照選擇的路線進行一趟貨船之旅,船上備有藝術家工作室和客艙,並提供駐留創作酬金、回程旅費津貼,以及為巡迴展覽製作的費用。巡迴展覽為整體計畫的第二階段,希冀透過作品與各地觀眾的相遇,使得海上之旅得以延續。

展覽和平面設計:紐約Project Projects

官方媒體合作夥伴:Cobo Social

Attachment  dsc0010
Attachment  dsc0076a
Attachment  dsc0083a
Attachment  dsc0087
Attachment  dsc0097
Attachment  dsc0104
Attachment  dsc0114
Attachment  dsc0131
Attachment  dsc0137
Attachment  dsc0177
Attachment  dsc0188
Attachment  dsc0204
Attachment  dsc0217
Attachment  dsc0221
Attachment  dsc0251
Attachment  dsc0253
Attachment  dsc0261
Attachment  dsc0290
Attachment  dsc0323
Attachment  dsc0324
Attachment  dsc0327
Attachment  dsc0334
Attachment  dsc9957
Attachment  dsc9973
Attachment  dsc9984
Attachment  dsc9995

開幕座談將於6.30時舉行,參與者包括Prem Krishnamurthy,康喆明,Maayan Strauss,Tuur Van Balen,Tyler Coburn,Christopher Page,由周安曼主持。