AFTERWORK IN KUALA LUMPUR

Dec 17, 2016 – Apr 16, 2017

18 December 2016 – 16 April 2017
Opening: 17 December, 2016, 6pm

ILHAM Gallery
Levels 3 & 5, ILHAM Tower
No 8, Jalan Binjai
50450 Kuala Lumpur

www.ilhamgallery.com

 

Poklong Anading, Liliana Angulo, Sharon Chin, Xyza Cruz Bacani, Jean-François Boclé, Cheng Yee Man (Gum), Imelda Cajipe Endaya, Köken Ergun, Harun Farocki, Larry Feign, Hit Man Gurung, Fan Ho, Alfredo Jaar, Jao Chia-En, Eisa Jocson, Abdoulaye Konaté, Sakarin Krue-On, KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, Lai Loong Sung, Gan Chin Lee, Joyce Lung Yuet Ching, I GAK Murniasih, Daniela Ortiz, Beatrix Pang, Miljohn Ruperto, Santiago Sierra, Sun Yuan & Peng Yu, Pangrok Sulap, Melati Suryodarmo, Brian Gothong Tan, Taring Padi, Maria Taniguchi, Ryan Villamael, and Elvis Yip Kin Bon

Afterwork is a major group exhibition exploring issues of class, race, labour, and migration in the region and beyond, as well as their corresponding aesthetics and histories. The exhibition is presented at ILHAM, Kuala Lumpur in collaboration with Para Site, Hong Kong.

Migrant domestic workers are Hong Kong’s largest minority group and one of the most visible components of the city's society. Migrant workers in construction, agriculture, and services, alongside domestic workers also represent a significant social group in Malaysia and other countries in the region. In most of these places, migrant workers’ legal and symbolic statuses are matters of constant negotiation, reflecting the many complexities behind the continuing nation building processes of our times. The stories of migrant workers in Hong Kong, Malaysia, and elsewhere are crucial narratives that need to be told alongside the growing affluence of many of these societies in the past decades, together with the stories of struggle of what is considered the ‘local’ working class and of other groups that have seen themselves historically disadvantaged, and on the backdrop of the different historical waves of migration that have shaped so much of our world. Afterwork is also looking at historical ways in which class and race have been constructed in the highly polarized societies of Asia. It is interested in how the South East Asian “other” has been approached in Chinese culture, but also on how race remains an issue within many Asian countries, including Malaysia. Anchors to other contexts and historical moments are present throughout the exhibition. 

Afterwork includes the work of artists of different practices, contexts, and generations. Several artists navigate directly the main thematic map of the exhibition; others chose a more personal approach, looking at the presence of domestic workers in households, the public sphere, and the artists' lives; while another group of artists create abstract and poetic landscapes that bring a different and necessary vocabulary in an exhibition that tries to address such a wide and contradictory array of topics and perspectives, from personal desires and dreams, to historical processes.

Malaysian households employed nearly 320,000 foreign domestic workers, as of 2009—mostly from Indonesia, but also from Philippines, Cambodia, and Sri Lanka. Unlike Hong Kong, a significant number of workers do not have legal status in Malaysia, often being trafficked into the country. Neither Hong Kong nor Malaysia permit Vietnamese citizens to work as domestic helpers due to claimed security reasons, related to the painful history of the Vietnamese refugee crisis that lasted from the late seventies until the early nineties and had both Hong Kong and Malaysia at its epicentre, the latter housing one of the largest and most infamous refugee camps in the region, Bidong Island. This history is included in the exhibition through major works by Alfredo Jaar, who documented the “boat people” crisis in Hong Kong at its height. The episode played an important role in the shifting imaginary of the newly rich Hong Kong Chinese society, reinforcing older stereotypes and recreating a South East Asian “other” — inspired by the Vietnamese refugees but quickly extended to include domestic workers from other countries of the region. While the darker skin South East Asian “other" had a much longer presence in Chinese history and culture, also illustrated in the exhibition by two reproductions of paintings from the Tang and Ming dynasties, the modern period with the long decay of the Qing dynasty and large scale Chinese migration to South East Asia have complicated the racist hierarchies within the region, a legacy still very much affecting contemporary Malaysian society. Another reproduction in the exhibition by Singaporean modernist master Liu Kang shows the particular case of Samsui women, Cantonese migrants who played a major role in construction work in Singapore in the 20th century.

Afterwork premiered at Para Site in March 2016 and is curated by Freya Chou, Cosmin Costinas, Inti Guerrero, and Qinyi Lim. The exhibition is expanded for its iteration at ILHAM, in dialogue with Rahel Joseph and Azzad Diah.

Attachment liliana angulo 2001 negro utopico 1

 

Liliana Angulo, Black Utopian, 2001, Colour prints, Courtesy the artist

《工餘》在吉隆坡

12月 17, 2016 – 4月 16, 2017

2016年12月 18 –2017年 4月 16
開幕:12月17日,晚上六點

ILHAM Gallery
Levels 3 & 5, ILHAM Tower
No 8, Jalan Binjai
50450 Kuala Lumpur

www.ilhamgallery.com

 

Poklong AnadingLiliana AnguloXyza Cruz BacaniJean-François Boclé、鄭怡敏、Imelda Cajipe EndayaKöken ErgunHarun FarockiLarry FeignHit Man Gurung、何藩、Alfredo Jaar、饒加恩、Eisa JocsonAbdoulaye KonatéSakarin Krue-OnKUNCI Cultural Studies CenterLai Loong SungGan Chin Lee、龍悅程、I GAK MurniasihDaniela Ortiz、彭倩幗、Miljohn RupertoSantiago Sierra、孫原 & 彭禹 Pangrok SulapMelati SuryodarmoBrian Gothong TanTaring PadiMaria Taniguchi Ryan Villamael、葉建邦

《工餘》是一個大規模的群展,探討東南亞及其他地區的種族、勞動力和移民問題,以及其相應的美學和歷史。本次展覽由吉隆坡ILHAM與香港Para Site藝術空間聯合呈獻。

外傭是香港最大的少數族群,也是香港社會中最顯注的群體之一。在馬來西亞,從事營造業、農業和服務業的外勞以及外傭,同時扮演該地和其他東南亞國家的重要社會群體。在大多數地區中,外勞遭遇的法律問題和象徵地位一直不斷引起爭議和交涉,反映了我們時代中,國家建設進程背後的許多複雜性。在香港、馬來西亞和其他地方,外勞的故事是重要的敘事,必須與過去數十年來促成社會變得日益富裕的情況一起表述,同時回看被視為「本土」工人階級和其他歷史上處於弱勢的群體間的抗爭故事。這些故事的背景,來自歷代一波接一波的移民潮,以及塑造我們現今世界的種種重要事件。《工餘》亦從歷史的角度探索階級和種族如何在高度化的亞洲社會中被建立起來。展覽試圖從其他背景和歷史事件出發,著重於東南亞的「異族」如何在中國文化中被看待,以及種族議題為何在馬來西亞等亞洲國家之中仍是棘手的問題。

《工餘》展出不同創作類型、背景和世代之藝術家的作品。一些藝術家展覽的主題核心出發;另一些則選擇了較個人的方式,深入了解外傭在僱主家庭、公共空間和這些藝術家自身生命中的狀況;其他藝術家則透過抽象的手法,描繪歷史進程及個人慾望和夢想交織下,寬廣卻又矛盾的觀點。 

根據2009年的數據紀錄,馬來西亞家庭共僱用了近320,000名外傭,大部份來自印尼,其他包括菲律賓、柬埔寨和斯里蘭卡。有別於香港,這些外傭在馬來西亞大多沒有合法身份,通常是偷渡進入當地。由於越南在70年代後期至90年代初爆發了令人傷痛的難民危機,香港及馬來西亞均以保安為由,禁止來自越南的外傭入境工作;當時香港及馬來西亞均受到這次難民危機所震盪,後者更在比農島(Bidong Island)建立了東南亞中惡名昭彰的難民營之一。展覽中,Alfredo Jaar以大型創作述說了這段歷史,忠實地記錄了香港在面對「船民」危機時所展現的社會高度。在當時經濟開始起飛的香港華人社會,出現了結構上的轉變,不單強化了陳腐的定型觀念,同時也重新塑造了一個東南亞「異族」的形象,這個形象最初受到越南難民事件啟發,很快便擴展至其他來自亞洲國家的外傭。皮膚較黑的東南亞「異族」在中國歷史和文化中已出現了很長時間,這次展覽中兩幅唐朝及明朝的繪畫複製品可見他們的蹤跡;清朝以降華人大規模遷移東南亞的移民潮,致使區內的種族結構越趨複雜,其影響仍可見於今日馬來西亞的社會。另外展覽中也展出新加坡現代主義大師劉抗的複製品,主角「三水女」為來自廣東的移民,他們在二十世紀新加坡的營造業中扮演重要角色。

《工餘》於20163月在香港首次展出,由周安曼、康喆明、Inti Guerrero及林沁怡共同策劃。本次於ILHAM的展覽延伸乃與Rahel JosephAzzad Diah合作完成。

Attachment liliana angulo 2001 negro utopico 1

 

Liliana Angulo, 黑人烏托邦, 2001, 彩色照片, 作品由藝術家提供